top of page

Aitken sweeps Crawford County Speedway Sooner Series show

By John Rittenoure

VAN BUREN, Ark. (May 26, 2024) - Geoff Aitken capped a perfect night with a feature victory in APEX Healthcare Partners Sooner Late Model Series action Saturday at Crawford County Speedway.

The APEX Sooner Series battled with competitors from the Legends Late Model Series and Aiken, who leads the Legends points race, became the fifth different Sooner Series winner in six races this season.

After winning his heat race, Aitken wheeled around early leader Bryan Glaze on lap three and went the distance in the 25-lap main event. Following a lap 23 restart Chris Reed drove into second but could not catch Aitken. Jax Redline moved up to third from his fifth starting position, Eli Ross came from ninth to finish fourth and Glaze dropped to fifth after starting on the pole.

Steve Hewitt, Sr. was transported to an area hospital for observation after he crashed in the third heat race. No additional information is available at this time.

Sooner Late Model Series Results

Crawford County Speedway - Van Buren, Arkansas

May 26, 2024

APEX Healthcare Partners A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 16-Geoff Aitken[3]; 2. F2R-Chris Reed[4]; 3. 22-Jax Redline[5]; 4. 66-Eli Ross[9]; 5. 1-Bryan Glaze[1]; 6. 4X-Dalon Helm[17]; 7. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[20]; 8. 36-Jason Redman[12]; 9. 81-Troy Bynum[6]; 10. 50-Shane Redline[2]; 11. 55-Zach Nickell[11]; 12. 0-Kort Morgan[14]; 13. 6D-Dustin Dixon[8]; 14. 10 4-Adam Popp[7]; 15. 10W-John Willard[10]; 16. 28-Logan Johnson[15]; 17. 4PLAY2-Richard Grenier[16]; 18. 69K-Kent Taylor[13]; 19. 37-Joseph Long[19]; 20. (DNS) H1-Steve Hewitt Sr

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 81-Troy Bynum[2]; 2. 1-Bryan Glaze[7]; 3. 10 4-Adam Popp[6]; 4. 10W-John Willard[4]; 5. 69K-Kent Taylor[5]; 6. 4PLAY2-Richard Grenier[3]; 7. (DNS) 37-Joseph Long

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 22-Jax Redline[6]; 2. 50-Shane Redline[3]; 3. 6D-Dustin Dixon[5]; 4. 55-Zach Nickell[4]; 5. 0-Kort Morgan[1]; 6. 4X-Dalon Helm[7]; 7. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[2]

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 16-Geoff Aitken[1]; 2. F2R-Chris Reed[4]; 3. 66-Eli Ross[3]; 4. 36-Jason Redman[5]; 5. 28-Logan Johnson[6]; 6. H1-Steve Hewitt Sr[2]

Lap Leaders: 1-2 Bryan Glaze, 3-25 Geoff Aitken.

Margin of Victory: 0.977.

2024 Winners: 4/6 - Kip Hughes, Enid Speedway; 4/13 - Jon Herring, Jr., Beaver County Raceway; 5/11 - Joe Godsey, Caney Valley Speedway; 5/17 - Kip Hughes, Longdale Speedway; 5/18 - Eli Ross, Oklahoma Sports Park; 5/26 - Geoff Aitken, Crawford County Speedway.

Next race: 81 Speedway, June 8.

2024 Top 10: 1. Dalon Helm, 2270; 2. Dakota Dillinger, 2150; 3. Zach Nichell, 2000; 4. Steve Hewitt, Sr., 1845; 5. Troy Bynum 1690; 6. Eli Ross; 1630; 7. Jon Herring, Jr. 1335; 8. Damian Patocka 1180; 9. Adrien Hickman 1055; 10. Kip Hughes 1050.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas.

APEX Healthcare Partners

Specializing in Multidisciplinary Care Across Specialties, at APEX Healthcare Partners, a team of skilled and experienced providers, therapists, and support staff work together to provide personalized and compassionate care for patients with spinal and neurological conditions in Oklahoma City and the surrounding areas.

160 views0 comments


bottom of page