Harrison wins third Sooner Late Model feature


By John Rittenoure, ADA, Okla. (August 20, 2017) – Following a third place finish at Southern Oklahoma Speedway on Friday, Mark Harrison dominated Saturday’s Sooner Late Model Series event at Oklahoma Sports Park.


The defending Sooner Series champion started his night off with a victory in the third heat race then battled his way to the front of the 25-lap main event and pulled away to win for the third time this season.


Nate Jantz turned in an impressive run from 14th to second but could not reel in Harrison on the OSP 4/10 mile oval. Kyle Sweeney settled for third while points leader Jay Sale was fourth.


The next SLMS event is September 9 at Enid Speedway.


Sooner Late Model Series Results
Oklahoma Sports Park
August 19, 2017

Car count: 20


Heat 1 (10 laps)

1, 64-Jay Sale. 2, 36-Jason Redman. 3, 31-Sammy Wilson. 4, ZZX-Kara Langley.5, 15-Wayne Bush.

Heat 2 (10 laps)

1, 5T-Randy Timms. 2, 77-Kyle Sweeney. 3, 31-Gary Lowe. 4, 99J-Nate Jantz. 5, D11-David Hennan. 6, 25A-Al Boytis. 7, 711-Kenneth Fielding. 8, ZZ-Sloppy Hogg.

Heat 3 (10 laps)

1, 81-Mark Harrison. 2, 57-Mark Shipman. 3, 7D-Austin Theiss. 4, 33-StevenHawkins. 5, 95-Mark Brill. 6, 63-Curt Acker. 7, 29R-Ritchie Burcik.


A Feature (25 laps)

1, 81-Mark Harrison. 2, 99J-Nate Jantz. 3, 77-Kyle Sweeney. 4, 64-Jay Sale. 5, 31-Gary Lowe. 6, 15-Wayne Bush. 7, 63-Curt Acker. 8, 31-Sammy Wilson. 9, 57-

Mark Shipman. 10, 33-Steven Hawkins. 11, ZZX-Kara Langley. 12, 711-Kenneth Fielding. 13, 7D-Austin Theiss. 14, 25A-Al Boytis. 15, 5T-Randy Timms. 16, 36-Jason Redman. 17, D11-David Hennan. 18, 29R-Ritchie Burcik. 19, 95-Mark Brill. DNS: ZZ-Sloppy Hogg



© 2021 Sooner Late Model Series

Site powered by Speedway Services