Leonard doubles up with B and A victories at 81 Speedway

29 drivers on hand for NCRA vs. Sooner Late Model shootout


By John Rittenoure - Park City, Kansas. (May 11, 2019) - There was no stopping Dusty Leonard on Saturday at the NCRA vs. Sooner Late Model co-sanctioned event at 81 Speedway. 


With a field of 29 racers on hand, there was plenty of competition but that did not stop Leonard, a previous winner at 81 Speedway this season. 


After running second in the third heat Leonard found himself on the front row of the B main. That would discourage some drivers, but not Leonard who just rolled up his sleeves and went to work. 


The Marysville, Kansas driver quickly jumped into the early lead and easily won the B main which earned him a starting spot in the A main. Starting 11th in the 20 car field, Leonard started working his way to the front as Adam Schrag set the early pace over Travis Johnson. Just after the halfway point and a yellow flag restart, Leonard worked his way to the front and drove past Schrag for the lead. Leonard led the remaining laps for the victory which moved him into the NCRA points lead. 


Schrag settled for second followed by Johnson in third. Justin Kinderknecht was fourth with hometown racer Delbert Smith rounding out the top five. 


Sooner Series points leader Kip Hughes was the highest finishing SLMS regular with a sixth-place finish. 


Sooner Late Model Series 

81 Speedway

May 11, 2019


Car count: 29


Heat 1 

1, 86J-Travis Johnson. 2, 199-Adam Schrag. 3, 92-Delbert Smith. 4, 33-Steve Hawkins. 5, 18-Tony Foster. 6, 1G-Nate Ginest. 7, 47-Jerry Winters. 8, 84-Gary Kilbourn.


Heat 2 

1, 2X-Robert Shepard. 2, 104T-Tyler Frye. 3, 4-Kip Hughes. 4, 42R-Ross McCartney. 5, 104-Adam Popp. 6, 229-Damian Patochka. 7, 7C-Jimmy Segraves


Heat 3

1, 92S-Daniel Smith. 2, 7D-Dusty Leonard. 3, 19-John Somers. 4, 65-Eric Brill. 5, 77L-David Lane. 6, 77-Cory Dumpert. 7, 95-Mark Brill.


Heat 4

1, 55-Chris Kratzer. 2, 1JR-Justin Kinderknecht. 3, 2G-Brandon Givens. 4, 36-Jason Redman. 5, 55-Zach Nickell. 6, 15-Wayne Bush. 7, 210-Phil Sager



1, 7D-Dusty Leonard. 2, 104T-Tyler Frye. 3, 42R-Ross McCartney. 4, 229-Damian Patochka. 5, 104-Adam Popp. 6, 1G-Nate Ginest. 7, 33-Steve Hawkins. 8, 7C-Jimmy Segraves. 9, 18-Tony Foster. 10, 77L-David Lane. 11, 84-Gary Kilbourn.

12, 210-Phil Sager. 13, 65-Eric Brill. 14, 95-Mark Brill. 15, 47-Jerry Winters. 16, 15-Wayne Bush. 17, 77-Cory Dumpert. 18, 55-Zach Nickell. 19, 36-Jason Redman.



1, 7D-Dusty Leonard. 2, 199-Adam Schrag. 3, 86J-Travis Johnson. 4, 1JR-Justin Kinderknecht. 5, 92-Delbert Smith. 6, 4-Kip Hughes. 7, 229-Damian Patochka. 8, 1G-Nate Ginest. 9, 55-Chris Kratzer. 10, 92S Daniel Smith. 11, 7C-Jimmy Segraves. 12, 2X-Robert Shepard. 13, 42R-Ross McCartney. 14, 19-John Somers. 15, 104-Adam Popp. 16, 33-Steve Hawkins. 17, 77L-David Lane. 18, 2G-Brandon Givens. 19, 104T-Tyler Frye. 20, 18-Tony Foster.




© 2021 Sooner Late Model Series

Site powered by Speedway Services