top of page

Sooner Late Model season wraps up Saturday at Enid Speedway

John Rittenoure - TULSA, Okla. (October 9, 2023) - The most competitive season in Sooner Late Model Series history is coming to completion this Saturday with the final points race of the season at Enid Speedway.

Thanks to the support of Tim Franklin, owner of Complete Well Testing, a record point fund has made for intense racing as drivers have raced hard over the past 22 events trying to earn a spot in the top 10.

Franklin first got involved in racing in the 1990’s with his support of Eddie Tidwell who was racing a sprint car. Later when Tidwell moved to late models Franklin again became involved and with Tidwell’s help became title sponsor of the Sooner Series.

Entering the final event on Saturday, Brett Hansen, who won Rookie of the Year honors in 2022, has wrapped up the 2023 championship. However, several positions are still up for grabs.

Joseph Gorby took over the runner-up position last weekend, but Richard Shepler is only 40 points behind in third. Eric Brill is in a fourth place fight with fifth place Dakota Dellinger. Seventh place Steve Hewitt, Sr. trails sixth place Gary Lowe by just 10 points, Ron Brown sits in ninth but is just 10 points behind Eli Ross in eighth, and rookie Adrien Hickman is holding down tenth.

The Enid Speedway Winter Nationals and final Sooner Series race of 2023 gets underway at 7:30 p.m. Saturday. Pit gates open 4.

2023 Winners: 4/14 - Kip Hughes - Thunderbird Speedway; 4/15 - Brett Hansen - Tulsa Speedway; 4/29 - Brett Hansen - Monett Raceway; 5/06 - Brett Hansen - Thunderbird Speedway; 6/02 - Kip Hughes - Outlaw Motor Speedway; 6/09 - Kip Hughes - Humboldt Speedway; 6/10 - Kip Hughes - 81 Speedway; 6/24 - Jace Parmley - Salina Highbanks Speedway; 7/01 - Joseph Gorby - Enid Speedway; 7/15 - Brett Hansen - Longdale Speedway; 7/22 - Kip Hughes - Caney Valley Speedway; 7/29 - Brett Hansen - Enid Speedway; 8/12 - Brett Hansen - Enid Speedway; 8/19 - Joseph Gorby - Longdale Speedway; 8/25 - Shayne Bailey - Tulsa Speedway; 8/26 - Dusty Leonard - Caney Valley Speedway; 9/09 - Darren Moses - Enid Speedway; 9/16 - Dusty Leonard - 81 Speedway; 9/23 - Bryan Glaze - Crawford County Speedway; 9/30 - Joseph Gorby - Creek County Speedway; 10/6 - Tanner Mullens - Longdale Speedway; 10/7 - Tanner Mullens - Red Dirt Raceway.

Top 10 Standings: 1. Brett Hansen 8970; 2. Joseph Gorby 8295; 3. Richard Shepler, 8255; 4. Eric Brill, 7325; 5, Dakota Dellinger, 6960; 6. Gary Lowe, 5895; 7. Steve Hewett, Sr., 5885; 8. Eli Ross, 5745; 9. Ron Brown, 5735; 10. Adrien Hickman, 5585.

About Complete Well Testing

Based in Oklahoma, Complete Well Testing is a family owned and operated company specializing in hydrostatic tubing testing and EMI tubing scanning.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas.

256 views0 comments


bottom of page