top of page

Ross tops Sooner vs Legends showdown at Crawford County Speedway

Updated: Sep 26, 2022

John Rittenoure - VAN BUREN, Ark. (September 24, 2022) - The Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series and the GRT Legends Late Model Series presented by SuperClean went head-to-head for the first time Saturday at Crawford County Speedway producing a 20-car field. But that did not deter Sooner Series points leader Hayden Ross from visiting the winners circle for the sixth time this season.

Sooner series regulars made up the first two rows of the feature and Eddie Martin jumped out to the early lead. But his luck ran out after 10 laps and Ross was there to take over the top spot. Ross led the remaining 15 laps to pick up the victory.

Ross Farmer and Dustin Holmes put the GRT Legends onto the podium with Farmer coming from 9th to second and Holmes grabbing third. Sooner rookie Brett Hansen held on to fourth and Legends racer Geoff Aitken rounded out the top five.

Legends competitors ended up taking six of the top 10 spots. Early leader Martin was credited with a 17th place finish.

The CWT Sooner Late Models return to Thunderbird Speedway for the final time this season next Friday then travel to Tri-State Speedway in Pocola just outside of Fort Smith on Saturday.

Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series

Crawford County Speedway - Van Buren, Arkansas

September 24, 2022

Complete Well Testing A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 66-Hayden Ross[3]; 2. 26R-Ross Farmer[9]; 3. 24H-Dustin Holmes[5]; 4. 7H-Brett Hansen[4]; 5. 16-Geoff Aitken[7]; 6. 007-Scott Freeman[8]; 7. 28-Chris Tuck[12]; 8. 36-Jason Redman[2]; 9. 38-ROBERT MYERS[11]; 10. 31-Gary Lowe[10]; 11. 118-Mike Fenton[14]; 12. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[17]; 13. 86E-Erik Ellis[19]; 14. 14-Ron Brown[20]; 15. 32P-Preston Farmer[16]; 16. 65-Eric Brill[13]; 17. 51-Eddie Martin[1]; 18. 4PLAY2-Richard Grenier[18]; 19. 1-Bryan Glaze[6]; 20. 5J-Joe Jackson[15]

Matts ATV Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 66-Hayden Ross[2]; 2. 7H-Brett Hansen[4]; 3. 16-Geoff Aitken[1]; 4. 31-Gary Lowe[5]; 5. 65-Eric Brill[6]; 6. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[7]; 7. 86E-Erik Ellis[3]

Design One Racewear Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 51-Eddie Martin[5]; 2. 36-Jason Redman[1]; 3. 007-Scott Freeman[6]; 4. 38-ROBERT MYERS[7]; 5. 118-Mike Fenton[3]; 6. 5J-Joe Jackson[2]; 7. 14-Ron Brown[4]

O’Reilly Auto Parts Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 24H-Dustin Holmes[2]; 2. 1-Bryan Glaze[1]; 3. 26R-Ross Farmer[4]; 4. 28-Chris Tuck[5]; 5. 32P-Preston Farmer[6]; 6. 4PLAY2-Richard Grenier[3]

Lap Leaders: Eddie Martin 1-10, Hayden Ross 11-25.

Margin of victory: 6.791 seconds.

Top 10 Standings: 1. Hayden Ross 9415; 2. Kip Hughes 7715; 3. Eddie Martin 7190; 4. Brett Hansen 7555; 5. Eric Brill 6175; 6. Kerney Weaver 5990. 7. Richard Shepler 5865; 8. Eddie Tidwell 5350; 9. Troy Bynum 4815 10. Ron Brown 4755.

2022 Winners: 3/25 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 3/26 - Brett Hansen (Thunderbird Speedway). 4/2 - Brett Hansen (Enid Speedway); 4/15 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 4/22 - Kip Hughes (Thunderbird Speedway); 4/23 - Hayden Ross (Oklahoma Sports Park); 5/6 - Jamie Burford (West Texas Raceway); 5/7 - Jamie Burford (Route 66 Motor Speedway); 5/14 - Dustin Allen (Enid Speedway); 5/20 - Brett Hansen (Thunderbird Speedway); 5/21 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 6/3 - Kip Hughes (Creek County Speedway); 6/4 - Dustin Allen (Enid Speedway); 6/11 - Brett Hansen (81 Speedway); 7/9 - Kip Hughes (Enid Speedway); 8/6 - Hayden Ross (Enid Speedway).; 8/13 - Dan Smith (81 Speedway); 8/26 - Brett Hansen (Tulsa Speedway); 8/27 - Clint McFadden (Caney Valley Speedway); 9/17 - Jason Redman (Oklahoma Sports Park); 9/24 - Hayden Ross (Crawford County Speedway).

About Complete Well Testing

Based in Oklahoma, Complete Well Testing is a family owned and operated company specializing in hydrostatic tubing testing and EMI tubing scanning.

About Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas as well.

292 views0 comments


bottom of page