top of page

Never give up attitude pays off for Hansen at 81 Speedway

Photo by Sara Foster, story by John Rittenoure - PARK CITY, Kans. (June 11, 2022) - Brett Hansen commented in victory lane, after winning Saturdays Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series victory at 81 Speedway, ‘That is why you never give up’.

Those words hit home for Hansen after winning his fourth feature of the season in a most unexpected way.

After battling his way into the top 3 and making contact with leader Hayden Ross and second place Jon Herring, Jr., Hansen was involved in a lap 18 multi-car crash in turn one.

Hansen fought back toward the front after a restart and later lined up next to Ross for a lap 21 restart only to be called for jumping on the start. Hansen again raced into second and then slid Ross in turn 3 of lap 23 for the lead. Hansen led the final two laps for the win. Ross settled for second after leading most of the race. Adam Poss advanced from 11th to third and early contender Herring was fourth. Kip Hughes ended up with fifth.

The race got underway with front row starter Troy Bynum leading Ross and Herring for the first three laps. Ross drove into the lead on lap 4 with Herring following into second. On the next lap Ross glanced off the turn 2 wall and Herring drove underneath. But Ross regained the lead a lap later.

On lap 9 the red was waved after Dustin Allen, who was racing for third place, slammed into the turn one wall and flipped. Fortunately Allen was not hurt, but the car ended up on the hook.

Ross continued to lead over Herring on the restart with Dan Smith taking over third and Hughes driving to fourth until the lap 18 crash brought out the red.

Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series

81 Speedway - Park City, Kansas

June 11, 2022

Compete Well Testing A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 7H-Brett Hansen[15]; 2. 66-Hayden Ross[3]; 3. 10 4-Adam Popp[11]; 4. 96-Jon Herring Jr[1]; 5. 60-Kip Hughes[9]; 6. 88S-Richard Shepler[17]; 7. 59-Brad Fortney[12]; 8. 65-Eric Brill[16]; 9. 14-Ron Brown[20]; 10. 64-Roger Winters[18]; 11. 92-Delbert Smith[14]; 12. 92S-Dan Smith[8]; 13. 7D-Dusty Leonard[13]; 14. 10-Jacob Magee[6]; 15. B1-Dustin Bolster[19]; 16. 81-Troy Bynum[2]; 17. 11-Dustin Allen[5]; 18. 1-Eddie Tidwell[7]; 19. 229-Damian Patocka[10]; 20. (DNF) 93J-Justin Carrell[22]; 21. (DNF) 51-Eddie Martin[21]; 22. (DNF) 1M-Darren Moses[4]

Matt’s ATV Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 96-Jon Herring Jr[2]; 2. 1-Eddie Tidwell[6]; 3. 10-Jacob Magee[8]; 4. 10 4-Adam Popp[7]; 5. 92-Delbert Smith[5]; 6. 88S-Richard Shepler[1]; 7. B1-Dustin Bolster[3]; 8. 93J-Justin Carrell[4]

O’Reilly Auto Parts Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 66-Hayden Ross[1]; 2. 11-Dustin Allen[4]; 3. 92S-Dan Smith[3]; 4. 59-Brad Fortney[2]; 5. 7H-Brett Hansen[7]; 6. 229-Damian Patocka[5]; 7. 14-Ron Brown[6]

DesignOne Racewear Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 60-Kip Hughes[2]; 2. 1M-Darren Moses[1]; 3. 81-Troy Bynum[4]; 4. 7D-Dusty Leonard[7]; 5. 65-Eric Brill[6]; 6. 64-Roger Winters[3]; 7. 51-Eddie Martin[5] Lap Leaders: Troy Bynum 1-3, Hayden Ross 4, Jon Herring Jr., 5, Hayden Ross 6-22, Brett Hansen 23-25.

Top 10 Standings: 1. Hayden Ross 6215; 2. Kip Hughes 5135; 3. Eddie Martin 4615; 4. Kerney Weaver 4055. 5. Richard Shepler 3985; 6. Brett Hansen 3935; 7. Troy Bynum 3835; 8. Eddie Tidwell 3530; 9. Eric Brill 3335; 10. Bubba Morgan 3095.

2022 Winners: 3/25 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 3/26 - Brett Hansen (Thunderbird Speedway). 4/2 - Brett Hansen (Enid Speedway); 4/15 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 4/22 - Kip Hughes (Thunderbird Speedway); 4/23 - Hayden Ross (Oklahoma Sports Park); 5/6 - Jamie Burford (West Texas Raceway); 5/7 - Jamie Burford (Route 66 Motor Speedway); 5/14 - Dustin Allen (Enid Speedway); 5/20 - Brett Hansen (Thunderbird Speedway); 5/21 - Hayden Ross (Thunderbird Speedway); 6/3 - Kip Hughes (Creek County Speedway); 6/4 - Dustin Allen (Enid Speedway); 6/11 - Brett Hansen (81 Speedway).

About Complete Well Testing

Based in Oklahoma, Complete Well Testing is a family owned and operated company specializing in hydrostatic tubing testing and EMI tubing scanning.

About Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas as well.

244 views0 comments


bottom of page