top of page

Hughes unstoppable at Beaver County Raceway

Updated: Jul 7

By John Rittenoure - (Maxx Ramsey photo) BEAVER, Okla. (July 5, 2024) - On April 13 Jon Herring Jr. brought Beaver County Raceway back to life for the first time in 10 years with his first career APEX Healthcare Partners Sooner Late Model win. He was on the verge of another win Friday at Beaver County Raceway, but gave way to Kip Hughes before the half way point of the 25-lap main event.

Herring drove off the pole into an early lead and set a strong pace for the first eight laps. However, Hughes shot into second on lap five and slowly reeled Herring in. On lap nine Hughes  powered by Herring for the lead. Herring fell back to third on lap 15 as Zach Nickell roared into second. Meanwhile Eli Ross was charging from his 12th starting position and drove into third on lap 20 moving Herring to fourth. Ross then got around Nickell on lap 22 but could not catch Hughes. Nickell remained in third. Richard Shepler held on to fifth behind Herring.

It was the 39th career victory for Hughes and his third of the season,

Sooner Late Model Series Results

Beaver County Raceway - Beaver, Oklahoma

July 5, 2024

APEX Heathcare Partners A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 60-Kip Hughes[3]; 2. 66-Eli Ross[12]; 3. 55-Zach Nickell[4]; 4. 96JR-Jon Herring Jr[1]; 5. 88S-Richard Shepler[2]; 6. A2-Randy Wilson[7]; 7. 81-Troy Bynum[6]; 8. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[13]; 9. 84-Gary Kilbourn[10]; 10. 27X-Ron Brown[8]; 11. 27-Ryan Harris[15]; 12. 2-Adam Pearson[14]; 13. 96-Jon Herring Sr[11]; 14. (DNS) 65-Eric Brill; 15. (DNS) 4X-Dalon Helm

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 96JR-Jon Herring Jr[3]; 2. 55-Zach Nickell[5]; 3. 65-Eric Brill[2]; 4. A2-Randy Wilson[8]; 5. 4X-Dalon Helm[7]; 6. 96-Jon Herring Sr[4]; 7. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[1]; 8. 27-Ryan Harris[6]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 60-Kip Hughes[3]; 2. 88S-Richard Shepler[5]; 3. 81-Troy Bynum[4]; 4. 27X-Ron Brown[1]; 5. 84-Gary Kilbourn[2]; 6. 66-Eli Ross[6]; 7. 2-Adam Pearson[7]

Lap Leaders: 1-8 Jon Herring, Jr., 9-25 Kip Hughes.

Margin of victory: 2.631.

2024 Winners: 4/6 - Kip Hughes, Enid Speedway; 4/13 - Jon Herring, Jr., Beaver County Raceway; 5/11 - Joe Godsey, Caney Valley Speedway; 5/17 - Kip Hughes, Longdale Speedway; 5/18 - Eli Ross, Oklahoma Sports Park; 5/26 - Geoff Aitken, Crawford County Speedway; 6/8 - Brandon Conkwright, 81 Speedway; 6/28 - Hudson O’Neal, Thunderbird Speedway; 6/29 - Brett Hansen, Salina Highbanks Speedway; 7/5 - Kip Hughes, Beaver County Raceway.    

2024 Top 10: 1. Zach Nichell, 3585; 2. Dalon Helm, 3455; 3. Dakota Dillinger, 3450; 4.Eli Ross 3230; 5. Troy Bynum, 2845; 6. Kip Hughes, 2340; 7. Ron Brown, 1945; 8. Damian Patocka, 1885; 9. Steve Hewitt, Sr., 1845; 10. Jon Herring, Jr., 1775.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas.

APEX Healthcare Partners

Specializing in Multidisciplinary Care Across Specialties, at APEX Healthcare Partners, a team of skilled and experienced providers, therapists, and support staff work together to provide personalized and compassionate care for patients with spinal and neurological conditions in Oklahoma City and the surrounding areas.

317 views0 comments


bottom of page