top of page

Hughes cruises to 2nd Sooner Series Late Model victory

(Kelli Foster photo) John Rittenoure - MUSKOGEE, Okla. (June 2, 2023) - Kip Hughes returned to victory lane Friday night winning the Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series presented by Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation at Outlaw Motor Speedway.

Outlaw Motor Speedway has been closed for a couple of seasons, but promotor Terry Mattox leased the track for the Mickey Walker Classic and invited the Sooner Series to run on the program.

Hughes started on the pole of the 25-lap main event and made it look easy as he raced unchallenged on the Outlaw 3/8’s mile oval.

“It is never easy, but when you start up front and the race track is rubbered up, you better get going,” said Hughes who led all 25 laps. “The sprint cars kind of put a groove on the bottom. I watched it and saw it was getting a little dull down there. I just tried to run down there and keep the tires cool.”

Jason Redman gave chase in the early going finally giving way to Troy Bynum on lap 12. Bynum briefly closed on Hughes after a lap 15 restart, but Hughes then pulled away to post an easy victory, his second of the season.

Hughes complicated Bynum on his second place run.

“Troy has come a long way in a short amount of time,” Hughes said. “He is on the same chassis and shocks we are on. Our cars are identical. I am proud of him. It is nice the cars out of my shop and run 1-2 somewhere.”

Redman held on to third, Bubby Morgan posted a season-high fourth place finish, and Joseph Gorby rounded out the top five.

The night saw Brett Hansen’s three-race win streak come to an end due to a broken rocker arm suffered in hot laps. Hansen was not able to make repairs and sat out the night. Rookie Eli Ross moved into second in points and now trails Hansen by just five points.

Dustin Dixon earned the Marks Machine Shop Hard Charger Award a he advanced eight positions to finish eighth.

Complete Well Testing, Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation

Sooner Late Model Series Results

Outlaw Motor Speedway, Muskogee, Oklahoma

Complete Well Testing A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 60-Kip Hughes[1]; 2. 81-Troy Bynum[4]; 3. 36-Jason Redman[3]; 4. 0-Bubby Morgan[7]; 5. 9-Joseph Gorby[5]; 6. 229-Damian Patocka[6]; 7. B1-Dustin Bolster[8]; 8. 078-Dustin Dixon[16]; 9. 65-Eric Brill[11]; 10. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[14]; 11. H1-Steve Hewitt Sr[13]; 12. 66-Eli Ross[10]; 13. 31-Gary Lowe[9]; 14. 77-Shawn Greenlee[17]; 15. 88S-Richard Shepler[12]; 16. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[18]; 17. 27X-Ron Brown[2]; 18. (DNS) 23-Kerney Weaver; 19. (DNS) 26-Adrien Hickman II; 20. (DNS) 7H-Brett Hansen

OReilly Auto Parts Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 81-Troy Bynum[4]; 2. 36-Jason Redman[5]; 3. 27X-Ron Brown[1]; 4. 0-Bubby Morgan[9]; 5. 31-Gary Lowe[6]; 6. 65-Eric Brill[8]; 7. H1-Steve Hewitt Sr[7]; 8. 23-Kerney Weaver[2]; 9. (DNS) 26-Adrien Hickman II; 10. (DNS) 7H-Brett Hansen

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 60-Kip Hughes[3]; 2. 229-Damian Patocka[1]; 3. 9-Joseph Gorby[9]; 4. B1-Dustin Bolster[2]; 5. 66-Eli Ross[7]; 6. 88S-Richard Shepler[8]; 7. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[6]; 8. 078-Dustin Dixon[4]; 9. 77-Shawn Greenlee[10]; 10. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[5] Lap Leaders: Kip Hughes 1-25 Margin of Victory: 4.176 Mark’s Machine Shop Hard Charger: Dustin Dixon +8

2023 Winners

4/14 - Kip Hughes - Thunderbird Speedway

4/15 - Brett Hansen - Tulsa Speedway 4/29 - Brett Hansen - Monett Raceway 5/6 - Brett Hansen - Thunderbird Speedway 6-2 - Kip Hughes - Outlaw Motor Speedway

Top 10 Standings: 1. Brett Hansen 1985; 2. Eli Ross 1980; 3. Richard Shepler, 1975; 4. Eric Brill 1860 ; 5. Jack Ulrich 1740; 6. Dakota Dellinger 1685; 7. Kerney Weaver, 1670; 8. Ron Brown, 1495; 9. Gary Lowe 1490. 10. Joseph Gorby 1205.

About Complete Well Testing

Based in Oklahoma, Complete Well Testing is a family owned and operated company specializing in hydrostatic tubing testing and EMI tubing scanning.

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation goal is to help grow both high school, trade school and college programs to start and or develop a motorsports program, club, or organizations at their school as well as individual motorsports programs. HRMF will provide financial grants, equipment, expertise, scholarships, and educational opportunities for these organizations and individuals. This program will allow students to overcome the hurdle of entering motorsports due to the high costs and specialized experience needed to get started. This program will allow these students the opportunity to be part of a team with one overall goal of success on the track, including budgeting, marketing, mechanical skills, logistics, and team building efforts. All while honoring the life lost to early of Hayden Diesel Ross, #forever66.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas as well.

Marks Machine Shop Hard Charger Dustin Dixon. Larry Carr photo.

766 views0 comments


bottom of page