top of page

Hansen doubles up with Sooner victory at Monett

Updated: May 4, 2023

(Kelli Foster photo) John Rittenoure - MONETT, Mo. (April, 2023) - Brett Hansen charged to the front from the sixth starting position to win his second consecutive Complete Well Testing Sooner Late Model Series presented by Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation feature Saturday at Monett Raceway.

Jim Body jumped into the initial lead with Hansen quickly taking over the runner-up position. However, Body was setting a strong pace and Hansen had to chase him down. On lap 7 Hansen drove to the high side of Body and was first across the start-finish line for the lead.

Joseph Gorby passed Body for second on lap 11 but could not catch Hansen and finished 0.789 seconds behind the leader. Body held on to third while Mark Daye advanced to fourth from 11th starting earning him the Mark’s Machine Shop Hard Charger award. Eddie Tidwell was credited with fifth in a race that ended one lap short due to a grinding crash on the front straightaway. Richard Shepler drive into the rear of Tidwell heavily damaging both cars. Fortunately Shepler and Tidwell exited their cars unhurt.

Due to a schedule change the next Sooner Late Model Series event is Friday, May 5, at Thunderbird Speedway. This event was originally scheduled for May 12. On Saturday, May 6, Enid Speedway will host their first Sooner Series event of the season.

Complete Well Testing, Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation

Sooner Late Model Series Results

Monett Raceway - Monett, Missouri

April 29, 2023

Complete Well Testing A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 7H-Brett Hansen[6]; 2. 9-Joseph Gorby[3]; 3. 71-Jim Body[1]; 4. 36D-Mark Daye[11]; 5. 65-Eric Brill[4]; 6. 18-Shawn Eggeman[14]; 7. 66-Eli Ross[8]; 8. 27X-Ron Brown[13]; 9. 1-Eddie Tidwell[5]; 10. Richard Shepler[7]. 11. 5JR-Noah Ames[17]; 12. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[10]; 13. 25K-Andrew Kimzey[16]; 14. 41-Mike Munce[2]; 15. 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[12]; 16. 23-Kerney Weaver[9]; 17. 7-Josh Hastings[15]

OReilly Auto Parts Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 7H-Brett Hansen[5]; 2. 41-Mike Munce[9]; 3. 65-Eric Brill[3]; 4. 88S-Richard Shepler[1]; 5. (DNF) 23-Kerney Weaver[2]; 6. (DNF) 36D-Mark Daye[7]; 7. (DNF) 27X-Ron Brown[4]; 8. (DNF) 7-Josh Hastings[6]; 9. (DNF) 5JR-Noah Ames[8]

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 1-Eddie Tidwell[3]; 2. 71-Jim Body[4]; 3. 9-Joseph Gorby[7]; 4. 66-Eli Ross[2]; 5. 22AD-Jacob Ulrich[8]; 6. (DNF) 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[1]; 7. (DNF) 18-Shawn Eggeman[5]; 8. (DNF) 25K-Andrew Kimzey[6]

Lap Leaders: Jim Body 1-6, Brett Hansen 7-20 Margin of Victory: 0.789 Mark’s Machine Shop Hard Charger: Mark Daye +7

2023 Winners

4/14 - Kip Hughes, Thunderbird Speedway

4/15 - Brett Hansen - Tulsa Speedway 4/29 - Brett Hansen - Monett Raceway

Top 10 Standings: 1. Brett Hansen 1410; 2-(tie) Eli Ross, Richard Shepler 1230; 4. Eric Brill 1190; 5. Eddie Tidwell 1145; 6. Kerney Weaver 1115; 7. Jack Ulrich 1080; 8. Dakota Dellinger 1040; Ron Brown 810; 10. Gary Lowe 775.

About Complete Well Testing

Based in Oklahoma, Complete Well Testing is a family owned and operated company specializing in hydrostatic tubing testing and EMI tubing scanning.

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation

Hayden Ross Motorsports Foundation goal is to help grow both high school, trade school and college programs to start and or develop a motorsports program, club, or organizations at their school as well as individual motorsports programs. HRMF will provide financial grants, equipment, expertise, scholarships, and educational opportunities for these organizations and individuals. This program will allow students to overcome the hurdle of entering motorsports due to the high costs and specialized experience needed to get started. This program will allow these students the opportunity to be part of a team with one overall goal of success on the track, including budgeting, marketing, mechanical skills, logistics, and team building efforts. All while honoring the life lost to early of Hayden Diesel Ross, #forever66.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas as well.

Jason Foster photo

290 views0 comments


bottom of page