top of page

Hansen back in Sooner winners circle at Salina

By John Rittenoure - (Photo by No Limit Photography)

PRYOR CREEK, Okla. (June 29, 2024) - After picking up six feature victories on the way to winning the Sooner Late Model series 2023 championship, Brett Hansen has been noticeably absent from the first seven events of the 2024 season. However, he was back this weekend and wasted no time in making his presence known.

After finishing fifth on Friday at Thunderbird Speedway. Hansen cruised to the APEX Healthcare Partners Sooner Late Model series main event at Salina Highbanks Speedway

Hansen started outside front row in the 25-lap main event and immediately raced into the lead. Hansen raced unchallenged around the high-banked 3/8’s mile oval to win his 12th career Sooner main event.

“It was a great night. I just got out there and hit my marks and be constant,” Hansen said of his run to victory.  “It was our fifth night on the car and it was doing great.”

Hansen was chased by fourth starting Willie Gammill who was making his first ever Sooner Series start. Troy Bynum battled with Gammill but settled for a third place finish. Four-time champion Kip Hughes came from seventh to finish fourth and Adam Popp closed out the top five.

Sooner Late Model Series Results

Salina Highbanks Speedway - Pryor Creek, Oklahoma

June 29, 2024

APEX Healthcare Partners A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 7H-Brett Hansen[2]; 2. 7W-Willie Gammill[4]; 3. 81-Troy Bynum[5]; 4. 60-Kip Hughes[7]; 5. 10 4-Adam Popp[6]; 6. 229-Damian Patocka[11]; 7. 4X-Dalon Helm[8]; 8. 88S-Richard Shepler[10]; 9. 31-Gary Lowe[12]; 10. 55-Zach Nickell[3]; 11. 27X-Ron Brown[13]; 12. (DNF) 17-Jarret Stuckey[1]; 13. (DNF) 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[14]; 14. (DNF) H2-Chris Hewitt[15]; 15. (DNF) 66-Eli Ross[9]

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 7H-Brett Hansen[2]; 2. 17-Jarret Stuckey[5]; 3. 81-Troy Bynum[4]; 4. 60-Kip Hughes[6]; 5. 66-Eli Ross[3]; 6. 229-Damian Patocka[1]; 7. 27X-Ron Brown[7]; 8. (DNS) H2-Chris Hewitt

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 55-Zach Nickell[3]; 2. 7W-Willie Gammill[6]; 3. 10 4-Adam Popp[2]; 4. 4X-Dalon Helm[4]; 5. 88S-Richard Shepler[7]; 6. 31-Gary Lowe[1]; 7. (DNF) 9XX-Dakota Dellinger[5]

Lap Leaders: 1-25 Brett Hansen.

Margin of victory: 3.997.

2024 Winners: 4/6 - Kip Hughes, Enid Speedway; 4/13 - Jon Herring, Jr., Beaver County Raceway; 5/11 - Joe Godsey, Caney Valley Speedway; 5/17 - Kip Hughes, Longdale Speedway; 5/18 - Eli Ross, Oklahoma Sports Park; 5/26 - Geoff Aitken, Crawford County Speedway; 6/8 - Brandon Conkwright, 81 Speedway; 6/28 - Hudson O’Neal, Thunderbird Speedway; 6/29 - Brett Hansen, Salina Highbanks Speedway.   

2024 Top 10: 1. Dalon Helm, 3340; 2. Zach Nichell, 3145; 3. Dakota Dillinger, 3085; 4.Eli Ross 2805; 5. Troy Bynum, 2455; 6. Damian Patocka, 1885; 7. Kip Hughes, 1865; 8. Steve Hewitt, Sr., 1845; 9. Ron Brown, 1595; 10. Jon Herring, Jr., 1335.

Sooner Late Model Series

The Sooner Late Model Series was formed in 2016 by Enid Speedway co-promoter Mark Brill. Brill felt there was not many opportunities for late model competitors to race in Oklahoma and the Sooner Late Model Series was formed. Now the series has grown beyond the borders of Oklahoma with events held in the neighboring states of Kansas, Texas and Arkansas.

APEX Healthcare Partners

Specializing in Multidisciplinary Care Across Specialties, at APEX Healthcare Partners, a team of skilled and experienced providers, therapists, and support staff work together to provide personalized and compassionate care for patients with spinal and neurological conditions in Oklahoma City and the surrounding areas.

239 views0 comments


bottom of page